iGu Fangreflektor System











 

Ultraviolette Strahlung kann auch nützlich sein

Als Verursacher von Hautkrebs sind die im Sonnenlicht enthaltenen und von Industrieprodukten erzeugten ultravioletten Strahlen seit Jahren im Gespräch.







Dass dabei zwischen verschiedenen Arten der UV-Strahlung unterschieden werden muß und dieses Licht nicht nur Krankheiten auslösen kann, sondern auch zur Erhaltung der Gesundheit dient, wird leicht übersehen.

UV light - click to enlarge

Ultraviolette Strahlung grenzt an das sichtbare Licht auf der Seite der kleiner werdenden Wellenlängen. UV- Licht wird nach seiner Wellenlänge in drei Bereiche untergliedert und mit der Maßeinheit Nanometer (nm) gemessen:

UV-A, langwelliges UV-Licht zwischen 380 und 315 nm, UV- B, mittelwelliges
UV-Licht zwischen 315 und 280 nm, UV-C, kurzwelliges UV- Licht zwischen 280 und 100 nm.

Was bewirkt UV-Licht?
Biologisch ist die Wirkung der einzelnen UV- Lichtbereiche ganz verschieden. Unmittelbares Resultat von UV-C und UV-B- Bestrahlung der Haut ist die Erythembildung, der sogenannte Sonnenbrand. Langzeitwirkungen sind hier das vorzeitige Altern der Haut und erhöhtes Hautkrebsrisiko. Besondere Gefahren gehen dabei von Wellenlängen knapp unter 300 nm im UV-B- Bereich aus. Insbesondere mit der UV-C- Strahlung ist noch eine weitere Gesundheitsgefährdung verbunden: Licht dieser Wellenlänge gilt als Auslöser der Conjunctivitis, also akuter Bindehautentzündungen. Gleichzeitig wird UV-Licht im Wellenlängenbereich zwischen 100 und 315 nm von der Industrie zur Desinfektion von Lebensmitteln eingesetzt, da es beispielsweise im Trinkwasser und in Milch vorhandene Bakterien abtötet.

Dagegen ist ultraviolettes Licht im UV-A- Bereich in natürlich vorkommender und künstlich erzeugbarer Dosierung ungefährlich. Seine Wirkung äussert sich biologisch lediglich in Pigmentierung, der Bräunung der Haut. Deshalb wird dieser Strahlungsbereich auch industriell vielfältig genutzt. Bei der Herstellung von Sonnenbänken, fluoreszierenden Lichtquellen, in der Fotochemie sowie der Kopiertechnik spielt UV-A- Licht eine wichtige Rolle. Ebenso ist UV-A- Licht in Geräten zur elektrischen Insektenvernichtung weit verbreitet.

UV-A- Licht zieht Insekten an
Im Gegensatz zum Menschen können einige Fluginsektenarten wie Stuben- und Schmeißfliegen, Wespen und auch Stechmücken ultraviolettes Licht sehen. Speziell im Bereich von 365 Nanometern übt es auf die Insekten eine gewisse Anziehungskraft aus, wenn sie freien Flugraum suchen. Diese Besonderheit wird bei der Bekämpfung von Fluginsekten in Räumen seit fast 30 Jahre genutzt.

Mittlerweile gibt es elektrische Insektenvernichter in zwei unterschiedlichen Ausführungen. Die ältere Version lockt Insekten durch UV-A- Licht an und vernichtet sie mit einem elektrisch geladenen Gitter, das die Leuchtröhre umgibt. Allerdings wirken kleinere Geräte dieser Bauart wegen ihrer geringen Leuchtkraft oder zu schwacher Hochspannung am Vernichtungsgitter gegen Fliegen und Wespen nur bedingt oder überhaupt nicht.

Beim iGu® - FANGREFLEKTOR® SYSTEM wird die Leuchtkraft der Lichtröhre(n) durch eine reflektierende Klebefolie, die ausserdem auch als Fangmechanismus dient, erheblich verstärkt. Damit übertrifft die Wirksamkeit des FANGREFLEKTORS® die von Geräten herkömmlicher Bauweise um ein Vielfaches. Der erste FANGREFLEKTOR® iGu® 3003 wurde wegen seiner insektizidfreien Funktionsweise und seinem hohen Wirkungsgrad mit dem Umweltengel ausgezeichnet und erhielt zudem noch den IF-Design Preis 1992.

Als Ersatz für eine Sonnenbank sind elektrische Insektenvernichter übrigens nicht geeignet. Die UV-Licht- Leistung ist viel zu gering, um einen Bräunungseffekt zu erzielen.

iGu Fangreflektor System
How does it work?
mosquito flytrap combi
For Private Home Use
For Comercial Premises
For Industrial Faclities
Food Hygiene



Company Profile
Contact Us
Order Now
Home

The ABC of UV Light

Ultraviolet radiation can be beneficial.

Ultraviolet radiation, contained in sunlight and generated by some industrial products, has been in disrepute for years as a cause of skin cancer.






It is therefore all too easy to overlook the fact that a distinction has to be drawn between various types of ultraviolet radiation, and that this light can not only cause illness but can also serve to safeguard health.

UV light - click to enlarge

The ultraviolet region begins at the short wavelength (violet) limit of visibility. According to wavelength range, ultraviolet light is divided into three regions and is measured in nanometres (nm):

  • UV-A, long-wave ultraviolet light in the 380 to 315 nm range
  • UV-B, medium-wave ultraviolet light in the 315 to 280 nm range
  • UV-C, short-wave ultraviolet light in the 280 to 100 nm range

    What are the effects of ultraviolet light?
    Biologically, the different regions of ultraviolet light have completely different effects. The immediate result of exposing the skin to UV-C and UV-B radiation is erythema or sunburn. Long-term effects in this connection are premature ageing of the skin and increased risk of skin cancer. Particular risks are associated with wavelengths just under 300 nm in the UV-B region. UV-C radiation in particular presents a further health hazard: light of this wavelength is regarded as a cause of conjunctivitis, i.e. acute inflammations of the conjunctiva, the delicate mucous membrane covering the eyeball and the under surface of the eyelid.

    At the same time, ultraviolet light in the wavelength range between 100 and 315 nm is used by industry for disinfecting foodstuffs, as it kills off bacteria present in drinking water and milk, for example. By contrast, ultraviolet light in the A-region is completely safe in naturally occurring and artificially producible doses. Its sole biological effect is pigmentation, i.e. it tans the skin. That is why this range of radiation is put to a wide range of industrial uses. In sunbeds, flourescent lamps, in photochemistry and in copying equipment, UV-A light plays an important role. And A-region ultraviolet light is also widely employed in electric insect control devices.

    A-region ultraviolet light attracts insects
    Unlike humans, some species of flying insect such as houseflies and bluebottles, wasps and mosquitoes can see ultraviolet light. In the 365-nanometre range in particular it exerts an enormous attraction on these bugs. This fact has been put to use for almost 20 years in the indoor battle against injurious flying insects.

    Electric insect control devices are nowadays available in two different versions. The older one lures insects by means of UV-A light and destroys them on an electrically charged grid surrounding the fluorescent tube. Smaller devices of this type, however, offer only limited effectiveness - or are completely ineffective - against flies and wasps owing to their low luminosity or inadequate voltage at the grid.

    In the case of the innovative iGu® FANGREFLEKTOR® System the luminosity of the fluorescent tube is appreciably boosted by a reflecting adhesive foil which also acts as a trap mechanism. The effectiveness of the iGu® FANGREFLEKTOR® FR 3003 which stands as a generic term for all models of iGu's Fangreflektor system thus exceeds that of conventionally designed devices many times over. By virtue of its insecticide-free mode of operation, the iGu® FANGREFLEKTOR® FR 3003 was awarded Germany's prestigious "environmental angel" emblem, as well as winning the "if" design prize.

    By the way, electric bug control devices cannot take the place of a sunbed: the ultraviolet light rating is much too low to give you a tan!

     

E-mail: iguflytrap@gmail.com

 

Copyright © 2000 - 2009 iGu Transtrade Ltd

iGu®, FANGREFLEKTOR®, NIPPAN®, FANGREFLEKTOR™(P.R.O.C) are registered Trademarks of iGu® Trust Christchurch NZ. www.iguflytrap.co.nz